Illustration Friday- Safari


                                                                                                                   Greetings! After (slightly) running around like a chicken with its head cut off I think I have now found my rhythm. Recently I received an awesome opportunity to illustrate flash cards for teaching English in Japan. I will be completing 500 flash cards that will be used in schools for elementary and upper elementary students. (Yes, I said 500) Thankfully I have a large window of time to complete the job, which gives me the flexibility within my studio schedule. When I first got the job I went through a bit of wobbling when it came to studio time vs. mommy time. So I plopped myself down and figured out a schedule that will work for both my boys and my artsy self. (Raise the roof!)

One thing that I still need to include into my schedule is reading. I have books from Spring Break that I haven’t touched since our plane landed and the real world began again. (Pout) I think that I will have to take the “bulls by the horns” and figure something. I simply can’t watch another day go by while adding yet another layer of dust to that abandoned story. (Not cool, Emily. Not cool.) But as I tackle that next, take a minute to enjoy this illustration for the week, and be blessed.
Emily

PS I love my job!

About emilywilsondesigns

Artist/illustrator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Illustration Friday- Safari

  1. Congratulations!!!!!! That’s awesome news. Good luck with your flash cards, I am curious to see how they turn out!
    i love this elephant and how he is holding the book with his trunk…very clever!

  2. Janece says:

    Congrats on the new art gig, Em. What an awesome way to combine your teacher skills with your artist ability. I hope you post at least a few of them so we can see how they are coming along.

    As for this amazing “Safari” illustration, it’s wonderful. I love how you gave a child-like look to the elephant. It looks just like a toddler who is excitedly reading his/her first book. And, as always, I love how the greens, reds, and yellow stand out from the brown and grey.

    Bravo!

Leave a Reply

