Illustration Friday- Toy


Here’s to the little child in all of us! 🙂

I have to say, I had a BALL doing this illustration for you this week. Some weeks it is hard to get started, so after a weekend of fighting what I thought would be the ‘cold that would kill me’ it was such a breath of fresh air sitting down and seeing my assignment for the week! I loved working with the lighting (like I always do) yet this week I tried a more ‘painterly’ approach. I felt that it was not important what was behind the little girl (let’s call her Tess) and wanted your attention only on Tess and her soon, new BFF. 🙂 I felt the painterly look helped to allude a background without using detail yet allowed a bit of interest so if your eye looked at the background you didn’t find yourself snoring. Hope you are all having a spectacular week and are all germ free. After all, that’s the way to roll!
Hugs!

About emilywilsondesigns

Artist/illustrator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Illustration Friday- Toy

  1. Cindy Paul says:

    Emily, this is such a lovely design. I like the window effect and the joy in Tess’ face. Nice work.

  2. jack foster says:

    Great “approach” Emily and wonderful character design! Great touch with the different tones on the hands where they are pressed up against the glass. Glad this topic helped you along in recovering from the killer cold. God bless.

  3. Janece says:

    I completely agree with your approach to the illustration. You put the details and focus right where they should be and left the rest to the imagination (not sure why anyone would want to imagine the background with the cool toys in front, but….).

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

