Illustration Friday- “Surrender”


If I were to write a book it would be called “The Struggles of Taking that No Thank You Bite”.  Although it has been a year and a half since the last time I had an interchange like the one above, I do remember it well. It plays out as; 1. Baby, takes one ‘wiff’ of the green goo you have spooned up and  2. refuse it entirely. It isn’t until you pretend to try some, rave that it is DIVINE and then carry on by turning the spoon into an airplane and flying it around the room, when they try a little. I am completely convinced that all the above is successful NOT because we, as parents are wonderful actors BUT that our children feel sorry by our performance and can do nothing else but to eat the goo. Truly! Unfortunately, this whole act doesn’t work on four-year-old little boys (yes, I’ve tried). Instead, it leads to comments like, “Mom, you’re soooo weird!” Gotta love the support LOL!

About emilywilsondesigns

Artist/illustrator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Illustration Friday- “Surrender”

  1. Rubin Pingk says:

    Been there!

    Good illo. I love the incredulous look on the tots face.

  2. Janece says:

    Love it! Your stories are always spot on and I can actually hear it taking place while looking at your illustration. I agree with Rubin, the look on the toddler is priceless! Being the picky eater that I am, I can totally relate to the poor kid. 🙂

    Well done!

  3. Farhana says:

    This is wonderful!! Haha.. you got the facial expressions perfect 🙂

  4. The little girl looks like, “This is the last spoon of this I’m taking!!!” LOL! Expression is great! Well done Illo!

  5. jack foster says:

    When you write that book, I’d like a copy :o) I’m a grandpa now, but once in a while I get called into feeding duty :o) Nice work Emily!

Leave a Reply

