Illustration Friday- Afterwards


“Afterwards, Jocelyn realized that all of her hard work, had paid off.”

 

As always, there is a reason behind this illustration. Uncomfortably, this one stems from a blog that I came across that disgusted and saddened me. As much as I want to share the details with you, I also don’t want to tempt you to ‘google’ the blog, giving the author the attention he seeks. Instead, I have chosen to respond in a positive way that reflects my love for people with special needs as well as all people. After all, (and before stumbling over this blog) I encouraged my facebook friends to; “No matter what you do… be kind to one another. And if you need a challenge, be kind to someone you would typically avoid. (I would love to hear your attempts, triumphs and stories!) Love all of you!”

Don’t let me fool you…I wanted to respond against his injustice and misquoting scripture to support his vision. Part of me wanted to address the inconsistencies, share the wonderful moments I had with students as I worked as a High School Special Education Teacher, and hope that it made a difference. Yet, after reading over his series of postings, I realized that I would be more affective posting my thoughts here, for you.

“No matter what you do… be kind to one another. And if you need a challenge, be kind to someone you would typically avoid. (I would love to hear your attempts, triumphs and stories!) Love all of you!- Emily”

 

About emilywilsondesigns

Artist/illustrator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Illustration Friday- Afterwards

  1. What a beautiful illustration! So glad you’re doing something positive about the negative things that people do in this world. This is just wonderful!

  2. This is just the sweetest. People are so mean. My best friend’s daughter is severly developmentally disabled and we see negative reactions a lot. but on the other side their are warm, kind people like you out there, who know better! I love this post. thank you!!

  3. Some people are just plainly insensitive. I agree that we should really be kind to one another and live a positive life. No one should look down on people with special needs. By the way, nice work! 🙂

  4. Janece says:

    There was a reason you became a Special Education teacher….it takes a special person to become one and that is exactly what you are! You are a wonderful example of how people SHOULD be and you do a great job sharing who you are and your message with others.

    Great work, Em!

  5. barbara says:

    Wonderful illustration!

  6. moverlow says:

    A very sweet illustration to match a sweet story. Well done. Thank you for sharing the book title BTW!

Leave a Reply

