Illustration Friday- Star gazing


Gander a gaze at a star in the making? 🙂

Greetings! Thanks again for stopping by and allowing me into your day for just a moment. At this time I am nestled into a corner of my favorite coffee shop and just completed the illustration for this week. Sometimes the words for the week are such that they would call for a literal drawing yet if you haven’t figured already I am more of an “outside the box” kind of girl. 🙂 This one stemmed from a childhood memory of my older sister and I taking time to sing into our family’s vacuüm. Even though our bellows never landed us a record deal it was always grand to live in the dream.

Just recently I quit my job to follow my dream to stay at home with my children, work as an illustrator and help my husband as he staffs a InterVarsity Chapter at Hope College. As I share our new direction people often look at me as if  I have two heads. After all, I left a stable teaching job to follow a job that is unpredictable and perhaps at times, unstable. Yet for me, this is all I can think to do and feel called to do. It is not about the money, or fame… but just honoring who I am and allowing my desire to create and being who I am supposed to be. Above my studio drawing table is a quote that I have identified with throughout this transition.

” A ship in harbor is safe — but that is not what ships are built for”
John A. Shedd
, Salt from My Attic, 1928

So as I venture out (sporting my “two heads”) I do so, with a skip in my step. After all this kid works outside the box and what better way than to do what I have always dreamed of doing! So, let the adventure begin!

About emilywilsondesigns

Artist/illustrator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Illustration Friday- Star gazing

  1. Kate says:

    Somehow I had no idea this site existed. VERY cool Em. I love all of them. Especially the paisley/parsley girl…that is so going to happen to me some day, lol.

  2. jack foster says:

    This is great Emily! All of it. The idea, the artwork, the story and the quote by John Shedd. Your characters are so full of life… just like you. Follow your dreams and use your talents as God created you to do. Love your style. God bless.

  3. Aajwanthi says:

    Hey! Love what your doing. You should always follow your dreams and it is great you are able to do it along with all your commitments! All the best for all your artistic endeavours.

  4. poppylocke says:

    This is a lovely illustration, so full of charm! And a fantastic inspirational story to go with it. I had never heard that quote before, thankyou for sharing 🙂

  5. Janece says:

    There are enough people in this world that not only think inside the box, but refuse to acknowledge life exists outside of the box. Thank you for being you and sharing it with the rest of us.

    ❤ Janece

  6. This is sooooo cute! I love it.

  7. Ila says:

    Let the adventure begin . . . indeed! I love the way your experiences and dreams come through your illustrations.

Leave a Reply

