Illustration Friday- Perspective


Worn and frayed? Or adored and loved? It's all how you look at it.

I woke up with great anticipation with what the assignment would be for Illustration Friday. You may chuckle… yet after a handful of busy days I was eager to have some directed and much-needed doodling time. When I saw that the word was perspective this is the first image that came to mind. Typically I mull a couple of ideas around and play with them before I plan my attack. Yet this week, and with the challenge of trying a new technique, I chose to see this tattered teddy to completion. I am thrilled that I did, because I not only challenged myself with new texture techniques but had a ball playing with light and shadow work.

This image was also inspired by a conversation I had with a friend during the week. She grumbled because awaiting her was a messy house, a stack of dishes and laundry that needed to be folded. Afterword she asked if I could relate… I chuckled because not only COULD I relate I could also add a few other chores on-top of the ones already listed. I said, “Oh yes, but when I start to get worked up over it I remind myself that I am blessed with two wonderfully healthy and ACTIVE little boys and if my house was spotless something would be terribly wrong.” We chuckled and I secretly wanted to swap to-do lists with my friend, after all hers was much shorter than mine. J I was reminded that it is all about how we look at things… I can grumble and curse my way to work or feel blessed to have a job. I can tackle my day with gritted teeth or smile because of what the day may hold… It is all a matter of perspective.

About emilywilsondesigns

Artist/illustrator
This entry was posted in February 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Illustration Friday- Perspective

  1. ljcillustration says:

    Lovely bear!

  2. Justin Segal says:

    thanks for sharing, nice story. The bear looks FANTASTIC! (I have a bear I’ve kept since I was 3, and the tatters are the best part)

  3. jack foster says:

    Love this Emily! I go with adored and loved. Great take on the prompt and wonderful artwork!

  4. Krista says:

    Adorable! You really captured “perspective” in such a sweet illustration.

  5. arihoma says:

    This is so sweet! My own Teddy totally looks pretty much like him 🙂 I like the textures!

  6. Natalie says:

    So sweet and so true!

  7. Very good page, well crafted I must say.

Leave a Reply

